Our Curriculum

At The Meadows Primary Academy our mission is for children to have a love of learning and to be passionate about the knowledge they encounter throughout our curriculum. We aim to provide a curriculum that engages children with the very best that has been thought and said. The knowledge-based approach to our curriculum enables children to be fluent in “powerful knowledge”; knowledge that will enable them to be successful throughout their lives, knowledge that will enable them to reach the highest aspirations.  

All our children will study the 2014 National Curriculum for both core and foundation stage subjects.  

In Key Stage One and Key Stage Two, children are taught all the elements of the 2014 National Curriculum for both core (English, Maths and Science) and foundation subjects (history, geography, music, art, physical education (PE), design technology and religious education). 

The Foundation Stage children will experience the seven areas of learning that are required and they are organised under the following areas: 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • Communication and Language 
  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Physical Development
  • Expressive Art and Design 


These areas underpin the organisation of the learning environment; the activities provided for children and the monitoring of children’s’ progress and development. 


To find out more about the curriculum, please contact Mrs Cunliffe or Mrs Borg 


 Please click on the subject links to find out more